Lesli Linka Glatter Elected DGA President; Second Woman To Hold Post – Deadline

Lesli Linka Glatter has been elected president of the DGA on the guild’s biennial conference, held at this time at DGA nationwide headquarters in Los Angeles. Glatter, who was the guild’s 1st vice chairman, is just the second lady ever elected president of the DGA. Martha Coolidge held the put up from 2002-03. Twenty-two males have served as president, going again to the guild’s founding in 1936.

“I am honored to have been chosen by my peers to serve as president, and am committed to continuing our Guild’s great legacy of protecting the economic and creative rights of our members—always with our eye on the future,” Glatter mentioned. “And there is nothing that makes me more hopeful about our future than looking around at this formidable, profoundly creative and incredibly diverse Board representing the future of this industry. I am blown away by their generosity of spirit and dedication to serving their fellow members, even as they juggle such demanding and successful careers. In these times of great technological and cultural change, we stand ready to take on the challenges that lie ahead. And just as we have throughout our 85-year history, together we will prevail.”

Glatter, who succeeds Thomas Schlamme, has been on the guild’s National Board since 2003, most just lately as First vice chairman, and earlier than that as fifth vice chairman. She’s been a member of three Negotiating Committees, together with the newest which achieved one other leap in made-for-SVOD residuals in addition to features in wages, pension contributions, and TV inventive rights. Her service as a member or alternate of the Western Directors Council, a member of the Creative Rights Committee, and on the PAC Leadership Council spans 20 years. Glatter joined the DGA in 1985.

“It has been a tremendous privilege serving as president over these past four years,” Schlamme mentioned. “And I am equally proud and thrilled to pass this baton into Lesli’s extraordinarily capable hands. Lesli is a powerful force in the industry, and she’s brought that same energy to the service she’s dedicated to our Guild over the past two decades fighting for our members’ rights. She is so uniquely suited to lead us into the future.”

The DGA, as is its customized, didn’t say who, if anybody, ran towards her, or what number of delegate votes she obtained.

With her election, the DGA, SAG-AFTRA and the WGA West now have – or can have shortly – ladies presidents. Fran Drescher was elected president of SAG earlier this month, and Meredith Stiehm, operating unopposed, shall be elected president of the WGA West subsequent Tuesday. It’s the primary time that each one three guilds have had ladies presidents on the similar time.

Glatter is a veteran director of movie, community, and premium cable tv drama, with each pilots and episodes to her credit score. Lesli’s TV work contains The Morning Show, Homeland, The Newsroom, The Walking Dead, Justified, Ray Donovan, Masters of Sex, True Blood, Mad Men, The Leftovers, The Good Wife, The West Wing, NYPD Blue, ER, Freaks and Geeks and Twin Peaks. she has additionally directed quite a few pilots together with Gilmore Girls, Pretty Little Liars and SIX.

Her movies embrace Now and Then, The Proposition and for HBO, State of Emergency. She is at present hooked up to direct the function adaptation of Ashley’s War for Universal Pictures. Lesli has been a Producing Director for the final 20 years, and most just lately, was the Executive Producer/Director of the award-winning sequence Homeland. She started her directing profession via the American Film Institute’s Directing Workshop for Women, by which her movie Tales of Meeting and Parting was nominated for an Oscar. She has been nominated for eight Directors Guild of America Awards, most just lately successful her third DGA Award for steering the Homeland sequence finale, having gained twice earlier than for Mad Men and Homeland. Lesli has obtained 8 Emmy nominations and a Humanitas Award nomination for HBO’s State of Emergency. She is at present growing initiatives for Netflix, Amazon, Apple, Epix and HBO.

Glatter just lately signed a primary look with Universal Television and fashioned Backyard Pictures together with her producing companion, Cheryl Bloch. She is at present directing and government producing Love and Death written by David E. Kelley and starring Elizabeth Olsen for HBO Max.

In addition to her work on the DGA, she serves on the Executive Committee of the Directors Branch of The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. She can be an advisor on the Sundance Institute’s Director’s Lab. She has been dedicated to mentoring for a few years together with for the DGA Director Development Initiative – and most just lately helped develop the profitable NBC program, Female Forward.

She has obtained the Caucus Foundation Award, the Dorothy Arzner Directing Award from Women in Film and the Franklin Schaffner Award from the American Film Institute, in addition to an Honorary Degree from the American Film Institute. Prior to her work as a director, she was a contemporary dance choreographer who labored all through Europe, Asia and the U.S.

The conference delegates additionally elected a brand new slate of officers and members of the nationwide board of administrators. The following officers have been elected to serve alongside Glatter: Mary Rae Thewlis was re-elected National Vice President; Paris Barclay, a past-DGA president, was elected Secretary-Treasurer. Also elected have been First Vice-President Betty Thomas; Second Vice-President Ron Howard; Third Vice-President Barry Jenkins; Fourth Vice-President Seith Mann; Fifth Vice-President Ava DuVernay; Sixth Vice-President Lily Olszewski; and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Joyce Thomas.

Complete List of 2021-2023 DGA Officers and National Board Members



Lesli Linka Glatter

National Vice-President

Mary Rae Thewlis


Paris Barclay

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

Joyce Thomas

First Vice-President

Betty Thomas

Second Vice-President

Ron Howard

Third Vice-President

Barry Jenkins

Fourth Vice-President

Seith Mann

Fifth Vice-President

Ava DuVernay

Sixth Vice-President

Lily Olszewski

Board Members

Jon Avnet
Norberto Barba
Karen Gaviola
Julie Gelfand
Duncan Henderson
Todd Holland
Nicole Kassell
Kathleen McGill
Christopher Nolan
Millicent Shelton
Steven Spielberg

Alternate Board Members

Kabir Akhtar
Mary Lou Belli
Laura Belsey
Hanelle Culpepper
Nora Gerard
Michael Goi
Maggie Greenwald
Anthony Hemingway
Michael Mann
Annetta Marion
Don Mischer
Jonathan Mostow
Edward Ornelas
Kimberly Peirce
Matthew Penn
Bethany Rooney
Oz Scott

Associate Board Members

Scott Berger
Valdez Flagg
Courtney Franklin
Louis J. Guerra
Shawn Pipkin-West

Second Alternate Board Members

Lee Blaine
Mimi Deaton
Kevin Koster
Dennis W. Mazzocco
Thomas Whelan
Canella Williams-Larrabee

Source Link – deadline.com

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twenty − 7 =

Back to top button